The governance structure of BSAT is as follows:

  • Members: ‘are the guardians of the governance of the trust. The members’ role is discrete and distinct; they are tasked with assessing if the board of trustees is performing well and, as such, are ensuring that the purpose of the trust is being met, and its charitable object is being fulfilled.’ (NGA, 2018)
  • Trustees: ‘are both trustees of the charity and directors of the Company limited by guarantee. The Charities Act 2011 defines charity trustees as the people responsible under the charity’s governing document for controlling the administration and management of the charity, regardless of what they are called. They are known collectively as the trustee board. Under charity law trustees have the ultimate responsibility for directing the affairs of, and ensuring that it is solvent, well run and delivering the charitable outcomes for which it has been set up. In law trustees have several legal duties, which are often described as those of compliance, care and prudence.’ (NGA, 2016) Our Board of Trustees also has the following Committees (Terms of Reference for which can be found in the Scheme of Delegation on the Documentation page):
    • Resources: responsible for ensuring that the staffing, financial, and infrastructure (buildings and ICT) resources of the Trust are effective, efficient, and support the objective of maximising pupil outcomes at every school. The Resources Committee will also lead on audit and assurance work.
    • Strategic Planning: The purpose of the Strategic Sub Group (SSG) is to understand the most current educational, local and national landscape context. Consider stakeholder need,
      and use this key information to plan the way forwards for BSAT to ensure the Trust grows effectively and provides outstanding education and provision for pupils with SEND.
  • Local Academy Board: each school has a Local Academy Board whose duties are similar to that of a maintained school’s local governing board, but without the legal responsibility or recognition. They hold the school to account on curriculum and standards, safeguarding and health & safety, and community & parental engagement.

Further information can be found in our Scheme of Delegation on the Documentation page.

Our members are:

  • Stephen Hull – British Council employee, and a highly experienced governor
  • Bob Anderson – HR, compliance, and governance expert
  • Judith Enright – school leadership and secondary education expert, local secondary school head teacher
  • Yasmin Sher – parent, and wellbeing and counselling expert

Our trustees are:

  • Christine Jackson, Chair of Trust
  • Lendon Lumsden, Vice Chair of Trust and Safeguarding Link
  • Therese McNulty, Finance and Resources Committee and Standards and Curriculum Link
  • Amy Gunning, Chair of Finance and Resources Committee
  • Rachel Rossiter, Chair of Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee
  • Suhail Roshan, Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee and Finance and Resources Committee
    Jayne Jardine, CEO – ex officio

We are holding some positions open to allow for future trust expansion.

Details of Local Academy Board members can be found on the respective school’s website.